Skip to content

Frequently Asked Questions

There may be small condensation droplets, but there should not be any noticeable separation of the oil. As long as it’s before the ‘best when used by’ date, your product is safe to enjoy.

No. Mayonnaise, by definition, contains oil and eggs. However, Hellmann’s Vegan is a certified vegan alternative to mayonnaise. Our vegan option is made with non-GMO Soybean oil – but without eggs – for an amazing wholesome taste.

Yes, all our Hellmann’s products – except for Hellmann’s Vegan – are made with 100% free-run eggs.

Note, Hellmann’s Vegan contains no animal products (as it is made without eggs) and is certified Vegan by Vegan Action.

Yes. Hellmann's products are made with ingredients that naturally do not contain gluten.

Look for a gluten-free label on many of our products, including our Real Mayonnaise, as well as Hellmann’s Vegan and Organic. Hellmann’s products with this label are made with ingredients that do not contain gluten and have not come in contact with gluten during processing.

Yes, all Hellmann's products are lactose-free.

However, always make sure to read and check the label before buying as recipes can change.

It is always best to check with your physician before making any changes to your diet. That being said, Hellmann’s mayonnaise uses free-run eggs that are pasteurized. Pasteurization is a process that eliminates harmful bacteria that could otherwise cause illness.

All Hellmann’s labels adhere to Health Canada’s regulations on declaring ingredients and allergens. Recipes can change, so we strongly recommend those with allergies check the ingredients list every time they purchase.

All of Hellmann’s facilities have allergen management programs in place to avoid unintentional cross-contamination of allergens between products. We do not operate allergen-free manufacturing sites.

Our Hellmann’s Real Mayonnaise is proudly crafted in Ontario. You might even say our main ingredient is Canada! We source our free-run eggs from farms in Quebec and Ontario, and 100% of our canola from farms in the Prairies.

Canola oil is a plant-based oil that when consumed in moderation can be part of a balanced and healthy diet. Not only is there no cholesterol in canola oil, it also contains good fats such as polyunsaturated and monounsaturated fats.

Canola oil does not contain any genetically modified ingredients.

According to the Canola Council of Canada, only one protein has been modified in the canola plant to make it more tolerant to herbicides, and this protein is removed during processing.

Before you’re ready to open and enjoy your Hellmann’s mayonnaise, keep it in a cool, dry place. Once opened, all Hellmann’s products should be refrigerated.

No. Freezing mayonnaise can change its consistency, texture and thickness, and will likely cause separation. To ensure a creamy texture with every bite, we do not recommend freezing Hellmann’s mayonnaise.

All of our products include a ‘best when used by’ date which assures optimum quality and freshness. For example, if you see 20200702 on your Hellmann’s jar, it should be enjoyed by July 2, 2020.

All the manufacturing codes on our Hellmann’s mayonnaise bottles and jars follow the same format, including the ‘best if used by’ date: YYYYMMDD/plant code/line number/time stamp

For example, you might see: 20210105MU05 15:33. This signifies that this jar of Hellmann’s mayonnaise has a best if used by date of January 5, 2021 and was made in plant code MU on line 05 at 3:33 pm.