Frequently Asked Questions

Hellmann’s real mayonnaise is made using 100% Free Range Eggs. Our mayonnaise is produced in Europe and as the Lion approval scheme is a British scheme and our eggs come from Europe they don’t have the British Lion stamp on them.

The British Lion mark is a recognised symbol of food safety, implemented to reduce the presence of salmonella. We want to reassure you that Unilever follow strict quality and food safety procedures and in addition to that the eggs used in Hellmann’s mayonnaise have been pasteurised to ensure a safe and tasty mayonnaise.

The flavourings do not currently contain any alliums but are produced in a factory containing allium powders which (although unlikely) could cause very low level contamination.

Hellmann's jars are measured in grams, Hellmann's Squeezy Mayonnaise is measured in grams but also has addtional information about the volume(ml) on pack. Grams need to be declared on both formats because neither meets the criteria for being a liquid according to the weights and measures regulations in the UK.

Yes, because the eggs are pasteurised. Pasteurisation is a process of heat treatment intended to kill harmful food poisoning bacteria.

Sometimes when jars or bottles have not been used for a while there may be some liquid that appears on the surface of the product. If this does happen, please shake your bottle well, or stir your mayonnaise well before using. As long as your product is still within its open shelf life your product is still good to eat. 

Vegan Mayo is a Vegan alternative to mayonnaise. A classic mayonnaise contains oil and eggs. Our Vegan Mayo contains 72% oil, which is similar to classical full fat mayonnaises. As our Vegan Mayo is Vegan, it does not contain eggs and is therefore not a classic mayonnaise.